8x8, Inc. Reviews

8x8 Inc. Corporate Info:
Headquarters:San Jose, CA
Founded In:1987
Service Availability:USA & Canada
Website:www.8x8.com
$19.99
Number of Reviews:
Positive reviews: 14
Negative reviews: 3
Would recommend:
82% of Users
WRITE A REVIEWWrite a Review
Overall Consumer Ratings
Call Quality
4.29412
Installation
4.17647
Support
3.764705
Reliability
4.17647
Features
4.17647
Price
4.058825
8x8 Inc. Rated: 4.1 out of 5

Setting up and signing...

Pros:Reliable, Price

Setting up and signing up was pretty easy. Started using their Virtual PBX the very same day. Learned how to send faxes via email and is quite affordable.

User's Rating:4.4
Call Quality
5
Installation
4
Support
4
Reliability
4
Features
4
Price
5
Date:
April 8, 2014
Reviewer:
Larry B.
Recommend:
Yes

Great experience

Pros:Everything; no negatives from what I've experienced
VS
Cons:Nothing

Great experience! This is a great service! I would recommend it to anyone! They're the best!

User's Rating:5.0
Call Quality
5
Installation
5
Support
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Price
5
Date:
March 19, 2014
Reviewer:
John C.
Recommend:
Yes

The support that...

Pros:Nothing But The Best.

The support that i have gotten over the years with this company is of the utmost best. The flow of great service, the quality of the support team, and not to exclude your billing department who has been there for me in every way, even at my darkest times of paying my bills on time, they were there in the trenches with me to see me come through. Reminds me so much of some of my buddies back in South East Asia during the Vietnam war. They are there to help me. Thank you guys so much for keeping my lines open to get some business on my end.

User's Rating:4.9
Call Quality
5
Installation
5
Support
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Price
4
Date:
February 14, 2014
Reviewer:
Michael O.
Recommend:
Yes

10 out of 10 Experience

I'm happy to report that every time I've called 8x8, I've had a 10/10 experience, including this most recent call. I've never had to hold for a tech. And every tech I've worked with has been US-based and had an excellent understanding of the 8x8 software and hardware. My issue has been resolved in an extremely efficient manner every time I've called. Some of the 8x8 setup and maintenance can be a bit daunting - even for someone with computer and electronics experience. If the phone support wasn't as good as it was, I wouldn't have the faith that I have in 8x8 and probably would have moved on to another solution by now. And all the support that I've talked to is US-based. No offense to anyone overseas, but I consistently have a better experience on support calls with a US-based tech.

User's Rating:4.6
Call Quality
4
Installation
4
Support
5
Reliability
4
Features
5
Price
5
Date:
January 22, 2014
Reviewer:
Nick M.
Recommend:
Yes

Impressive Features

Pros:Reliablilty and Features were impressive

8x8 has been the best VoIP service I've used so far. This is my 3rd switch and I've had the best service and experience with them. Very reliable service with trained customer support. Shipping and setup was really quick. 8x8 did not waste time. Service is worth the price tag. Highly Recommend

User's Rating:4.6
Call Quality
4
Installation
4
Support
5
Reliability
4
Features
5
Price
5
Date:
December 23, 2013
Reviewer:
Jonathon M.
Recommend:
Yes

Been very reliable

Pros:Quick & Easy Setup, Clear Sound Quality

Been very reliable. Quick setup, installation. Sound quality is quite impressive and my internet hasn't changed or slowed down since signing up with 8x8 a couple months ago. Customer Service portal could be more descriptive when trying to explain or answer certain setup questions.

Haven't had a bad experience or poor phone quality issues yet. Good enough for our small business of 7 employees.

User's Rating:4.6
Call Quality
5
Installation
5
Support
4
Reliability
5
Features
4
Price
4
Date:
July 29, 2013
Reviewer:
Miranda P.
Recommend:
Yes

Well worth it

We left RingCentral because they had so much downtime. In addition their technical support wasn't very good and even when the system worked it just didn't work that well. 8x8 is slightly more costly but well worth it. In fact after we left RingCentral they called to ask who we had switched to and I told them 8x8. The lady told me that she knows 8x8 might be cheaper but that I'd regret the decision. I told her that 8x8 was actually more expensive but worth every penny and I wouldn't regret it. I still feel that way to this day.

User's Rating:5.0
Call Quality
5
Installation
5
Support
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Price
5
Date:
July 26, 2013
Reviewer:
Andy T.
Recommend:
Yes

Great when it works

Pros:When it works everything is great
VS
Cons:Customer service

Everything worked well until our main switchboard phone malfunctioned. We contacted customer service by cell phone and experienced a 10 minute wait before we spoke to a rep. The rep wanted to determine if it was the phone or the connection and asked us to switch the phone with a working phone in the office. After we did this it was obvious that it was a phone issue and not a connection issue as the main phone did not work at any location that we tried it at while any phone we plugged in at the front desk continued to work. The cust service rep disagreed and said that it was connection issue on our end. Long story short, were changing VOIP carriers.

User's Rating:3.1
Call Quality
5
Installation
4
Support
2
Reliability
3
Features
4
Price
4
Date:
June 3, 2013
Reviewer:
Mike D.
Recommend:
No

In house development and support

Pros:In house development and support
VS
Cons:Billing issue but support was very professional and gave quick credit.

8x8 is the Premier business VOIP provider. After experiencing Ring Central (outages) and Fonality (outages) and researching many other companies, 8x8 has the very best reliability. In every category 8x8 is the clear leader, all the others are amateurs. They are playing catch up since 8x8 developed many of the PBX/ Auto Attendant tech in the cloud 10 years ago before any of the others were in the game. I especially like the voice recording that for my business lines. That is huge for a business plugging revenue holes and building new revenue. Bottom line 8x8 is the most reliable provider with the most features that they developed in house years ago!!

User's Rating:4.9
Call Quality
5
Installation
5
Support
5
Reliability
5
Features
5
Price
4
Date:
April 25, 2013
Reviewer:
Vincent J.
Recommend:
Yes

Lacks basic functionality

Pros:None
VS
Cons:Lacks basic functionality, deceptive marketing (there is no 30 day money back guarantee), sales staff lacks knowledge

I was very disappointed in my experience with 8x8, and will never do business with them again. To start with, the system did not have some basic features one would expect from any PBX solution. For example, the softphone rings the headset rather than the PC speaker. That’s fine for a call center solution, but not for a work desk where people don’t wear their headsets all day long. There were other feature problems as well. I discovered these issues on the first day of use. I tried to work with tech support and sales to work around the problems, but they did not have solutions. So, we cancelled our service the next day. To my surprise, 8x8 did not issue a refund. I had to call to request a refund. After a long wait, they agreed to issue a PARTIAL refund (about 70% of what I paid them) and said I would receive it within 8 days. I called back 3 weeks later because I had still not received my refund. Another long wait, and finally the representative, Jessica, told me she would look into it. I have yet to receive any refund. Some companies are poorly run, some have bad products or bad services, and some are dishonest. Based on my experience with 8x8, I believe it to be guilty of the first two. I hope it is not guilty of the third.

User's Rating:0.9
Call Quality
1
Installation
1
Support
1
Reliability
1
Features
1
Price
1
Date:
April 12, 2013
Reviewer:
Matthew K.
Recommend:
No

Pages

8x8, Inc., (Nasdaq: EGHT), offers highly affordable voice, video, mobile and unified communications solutions for small to medium businesses, as well as largely distributed enterprises. Featured is their 8x8 Virtual Office small business phone solution, hosted by a PBX (Private Branch Exchange). Business services of 8x8 integrate advanced phone services, web conferencing, powerful online productivity tools, flexible service plans, and easy setup and use. All their technology is homegrown, cutting costs and improving overall services.

8x8, Inc. backs their products through a live technical support system, onsite assistance, and over 25 years in the industry. In 2010, Deloitte's Technology Fast 500 ranked them as one of the fastest growing companies in North America. Infonetics Research has also named them one of the top five hosted VoIP providers for the fourth consecutive year.

Most Popular Plan: 8x8 Virtual Office – Unlimited Extension
The most popular plan from 8x8 is their Virtual Office – Unlimited Extension. Unlimited Extension provides for unlimited calling to the US, Canada, Puerto Rico, Guam, US Virgin Islands, France, Ireland, Italy, Spain, and the UK. Find a better rate? 8x8 will match any competitor quote, and also offer volume discounts for multiple users.

Unlimited Extension Plan comes with the following features: Hosted PBX, Auto Attendant, Extension Dialing, On-Hold Music, Ring Groups, Directory Assistance Listing, Online Billing, Online Admin Portal, Local Number Porting (LNP)

Included with each extension: Unlimited calling, Direct Phone Number, Personalized Voicemail, Voicemail to Email, Conference Bridge, Caller ID, Call Waiting, Caller ID Block, Call Transfers, Call Park, 3-Way Calling, Online Dashboard, Advanced Call Forwarding, Group Intercom Paging, DND, Stutter Tone Notification, Local Time Display, Phone-Based Management, iOS & Android App Integration, Click2Call

CRM/Contact Integration: Salesforce, ACT!, Netsuite, SugarCRM, eAgent, Outlook

Faxing Options: Unlimited Fax, Metered Fax

Inbound Numbers: Virtual Numbers, International Virtual Numbers, Toll-Free Virtual Numbers

Exclusive Options:
8x8 Virtual Office Mobile: Available for the iOS and Android, 8x8 Virtual Office Mobile is a mobile PBX software platform. The most recent build in Virtual Office Mobile 4.0 is optimized for Wi-Fi, 3G, 4G, and LTE. It leverages some of the most advanced audio codecs to offer better compression algorithms, making use seamless despite less desirable connections. By connecting to a user’s extension, the platform allows calls to be recorded on the fly, voicemail to be checked, and most recently, video chats through a camera equipped device. Through the offering, users may also monitor the status of co-workers, virtually or otherwise, while managing incoming faxes, parked calls voicemails, and much more.

8x8 Awards:
- 2012 Magic Quadrant Market Leader for Unified Communications as a Service (UCaaS)
-
2012 Leading Lights Public Company of the Year
-
2012 North American Frost & Sullivan Award for Market Share Leadership

Provider Info
Year Founded
1987
Headquarters Location
San Jose, CA
Service Location
USA & Canada
Service Type Availability
Business Phone Service, Hosted PBX, Call Center, Unified Communications
Popular Service Plan
Virtual Office Unlimited
Money Back Guarantee
30-Days
Services & Pricing
Monthly Cost of Cheapest Service
$19.99/mo
Amount of Lines Per Price Tier

Varies, See site for more details

Month to Month Option
No
Metered Plans
Available
Customizable Plans
Yes
Activation Fee
Free
Setup Fee
Free
Number Porting Fee
Free
Mobile App
Yes
Own Softphone
Yes
Works with 3rd party Softphones
No
Fax Options
Yes
Fax Pricing

Paperless Fax Only - $20/mo for bundle

Desktop Integration Client
Yes
Toll Free Numbers
Yes
$25.99/mo (1500 Mins Included, Add'l $0.03/min)
Local Numbers
Yes
BYOD Option
No
Available Features (some features cost extra, as per provider rates)
Advanced Call Forwarding
Yes
Anonymous Call Rejection
Yes
Auto Attendant
Yes
Busy Lamp Field
Yes
Call Queuing
Yes
Set of 6 call queues for $14.99/mo + $9.99 activation
Call Me Now
No
Call Notifications
Yes
Call Parking
Yes
Call Recording
Yes
Call Return
Yes
Call Waiting
Yes
Caller ID
Yes
Conference Calls
Yes
Dial-by-name Directory
Yes
Do Not Disturb
Yes
E911
Yes
Find Me/Follow Me
Yes
Group Paging
Yes
Hunt Group
Yes
IVR
Yes
Mobile/Deskphone Sync
Yes
On-Hold Music
Yes
Privacy Options
No
Push To Talk
Yes
Selective Call Acceptance
No
Selective Call Rejection
Yes
Shared Call Appearance
No
Simultaneous Ring
Yes
Switchboard Software for Live Receptionist
Yes
$19.99/mo/user - $9.99 activation fee
Three-way Calling
Yes
Unlimited Extensions
Yes
Voicemail Transcriptions
No
Virtual Extensions
Yes
$4.99/mo/ext
Integrations
Outlook
Yes
NetSuite
Yes
SalesForce
Yes
SugarCRM
Yes
Support
Hours
Mon - Fri 8am-5pm PST
Telephone Support
Yes
Email Support
Yes
Instant Chat
Yes
24/7 Call-in Support
No
FAQs Section
Yes
Video Tutorials
Yes
E-Guides
Yes
Online Ticket Submissions
No