Overall
4.1
Request Quote
Request Demo
Visit Website

OnSIP

New York City, NY
OnSIP is a product of Junction Networks, but if you just call them “onSIP,” they won’t mind. With over 40,000...
2004
Year Founded
71%
Recommend It
7
User Reviews
Request Quote
Request Quote
Request Demo
Visit Website
OnSIP Reviews
Provider Overview
Screenshots

We started using Onsip 4 years ago….

We started using Onsip 4 years ago. It was affordable and has a relatively easy configuration interface. Problems with their service began about 18 months ago when they upgraded their server side software and we lost the ability to answer our phones for two weeks ( routing all calls to mobile was a work-around to survive ). Roughly 12 months ago we could no longer have cell phones in any of our groups because then the group distribution would not work. This lasted two weeks again. Then 6 months ago, we had ghost routes that would call forward calls to non employees even though we removed all possible routes. Their support repeatedly claimed that we had forwarding on the phone itself then admitted it was on their end, you guessed it, two weeks later. Finally, it appears that they have been collecting city tax for some three years even though we do not operate in the city. $300 gone. Disappointing, since they seemed so advanced in the beginning. Shopping around for another provider now.

We started using Onsip 4 years ago. It was affordable and has a relatively easy configuration interface. Problems with their service began about 18 months ago when they upgraded their server side software and we lost the ability to answer our phones for two weeks ( routing all calls to mobile was a work-around to survive ). Roughly 12 months ago we could no longer have cell phones in any of our groups because then the group distribution would not work. This lasted two weeks again. Then 6 months ago, we had ghost routes that would call forward calls to non employees even though we removed all possible routes. Their support repeatedly claimed that we had forwarding on the phone itself then admitted it was on their end, you guessed it, two weeks later. Finally, it appears that they have been collecting city tax for some three years even though we do not operate in the city. $300 gone. Disappointing, since they seemed so advanced in the beginning. Shopping around for another provider now.

Pros: Web interface easily configured.
Cons: Bugs, inexperienced support, not reliable.

Easy to use…

I’ve been with OnSIP for 5 years. There were some networking/redundancy issues early on, and some weird caller-id (incoming and outgoing) issues, but I can’t remember the last time there was an issue on their side of the service.I love having as many simultaneous calls as I want; some providers have limits, and while I usually don’t hit the limits with other providers, I don’t have to think about it at all with OnSIP, and I also don’t need to have backup providers to cover during outages, because I haven’t seen any outages…

I’ve been with OnSIP for 5 years. There were some networking/redundancy issues early on, and some weird caller-id (incoming and outgoing) issues, but I can’t remember the last time there was an issue on their side of the service.I love having as many simultaneous calls as I want; some providers have limits, and while I usually don’t hit the limits with other providers, I don’t have to think about it at all with OnSIP, and I also don’t need to have backup providers to cover during outages, because I haven’t seen any outages…

Pros: Easy to use, when needed, technical support is experienced, no issues usually.
Cons: don't have DIDs in the rate center that I live in.

HD Sound

I joined Onsip about a year ago, and I am really impressed with the sound quality and its basic feature bundles. The UC dashboard, which is considered a basic feature is real easy to use (once you learn it). Phone service has been very reliable. Installation was quick. Customer Service seems a bit promotional at times, but does serve its purpose.

I joined Onsip about a year ago, and I am really impressed with the sound quality and its basic feature bundles. The UC dashboard, which is considered a basic feature is real easy to use (once you learn it). Phone service has been very reliable. Installation was quick. Customer Service seems a bit promotional at times, but does serve its purpose.

Pros: HD Sound features, Reliable.
Cons: Not the cheapest.

View ratings…

I don’t have much to say about the company itself as we just signed up. But my ratings sum it up.

I don’t have much to say about the company itself as we just signed up. But my ratings sum it up.

Pros: None.
Cons: None.

OnSIP has allowed us to expand

OnSIP has allowed us to expand the use of IP telephony across all of our facilities without having to incur the costs associated with installing an IP system. Over the last two years we’ve added about 70 phones (20 more coming soon) across 11 sites with little to no interuptions. OnSIP’s unbeatable price point has made obtaining ROI a snap and to date we’ve reduced our average monthly phone costs by more than 70%! The service and support provided by OnSIP is quick, concise, and rarely needed due to the lack of having an overly-complex system to work with.

OnSIP has allowed us to expand the use of IP telephony across all of our facilities without having to incur the costs associated with installing an IP system. Over the last two years we’ve added about 70 phones (20 more coming soon) across 11 sites with little to no interuptions. OnSIP’s unbeatable price point has made obtaining ROI a snap and to date we’ve reduced our average monthly phone costs by more than 70%! The service and support provided by OnSIP is quick, concise, and rarely needed due to the lack of having an overly-complex system to work with.

Pros: Excellent sound quality, support, and pricing.
Cons: None.
Loading...
Provider Overview

OnSIP is a product of Junction Networks, but if you just call them “onSIP,” they won’t mind. With over 40,000 businesses OnSIP is one of the top hosted VoIP PBX providers. They have redundant colocation centers, one in Manhattan, the other in Los Angeles. Calls are routed to use the H.323 communication standard whenever possible, which means the best sound quality. They offer one of the most flexible platforms, and have a simple API for developers to add applications of their own. That said, for any business owner that wants simplicity and reliability, the platform manages to be both intuitive and crammed with features.

Editor’s bottom line:
OnSIP may seem intimidating at first because the plans require you to examine how much you use the phone, rather than treat it like a water tap. However, if you’ve ever complained that your cable company (or any other service) charges you for features or channels you’ll never use, this is what you’ve asked for.

OnSIP has both a proprietary phone software that is top-tier, and a platform that can be used on any device capable of using the Session Initiation Protocol. Having this option is great if you prefer any non-traditional operating system or one of the less popular mobile devices. As with any VoIP provider today, you get so much more than just a way to make phone calls. You get all sorts of integration with third-party CRM and help desk software, and their own applications as well.

With OnSIP, you can communicate by audio, video, or text with any of your colleagues, or even with a new contact visiting your web site, and all with no software to load. Finally, it’s worth reminding you that the system is optimized for an all-IP experience, but it will connect to any phone number in the world.

Support Options:

  • US-based support 9 am to 8 pm ET, Monday-Thursday, 9 am to 6 pm Friday. Call 800-801-3381 (Then press 2, 1).
  • While on hold, you can leave a voicemail and the staff will get back to you, rather than wait in the queue.
  • For off hours, customers can leave a voicemail or create a a ticket—in the case of service interruptions, engineers are notified and may contact the customer immediately. Other issues are resolved starting the next business day.
  • Live webinars with Q&A are held twice per week.
  • The web site has extensive tutorials and FAQs.

Popular Service Plan:

  • $8.95 per person per month, with minimum 5 person minimum ($53.75/mo including E911)
  • Voicemail Box
  • Auto Attendants
  • Ring Groups
  • Dial by Name Directory
  • Announcements
  • Music On Hold Channels
  • Busy Lamp Field
  • Call Parking
  • Enhanced Music On Hold
  • OnSIP InstaCall

 

Features:

  • Insta-Call: A variation on Click-To-Call that lets visitors start a video call when browsing your web site.
  • Auto-Attendant: Commonly called a Phone Tree, this software directs calls to the right extension or number.
  • Groups: Also called Ring Groups or Hunt Groups, this feature typically sends calls to an entire department and whoever is available can answer the call. Great for inbound sales.
  • Dial-By-Name Directory: Inbound calls can be directed to an extension that matches up with the first few letters of the agent’s name. Ideal for when new contacts don’t know your extension number.
  • ACD Queues – The Automatic Cal Distributor can customize how an inbound call is routed; it is used to best match up the caller’s issue with the agent who can best solve it.
  • 911 – Modern VoIP providers are required to route 911 calls to emergency contact centers, and the call will send location information to the operator.
  • Inbound Bridge – If an onSIP subscriber can find a better deal on toll-free calling than they offer, onSIP will connect calls from that provider, while still providing superior PBX and standard calling service. This feature is most suited for international toll-free calls.
  • Phone Numbers – New subscribers can choose a new local or toll-free number, or choose to keep the existing number.
  • Voicemail-to-Email – Sends a copy of your incoming voicemail messages to your email. You don’t even have to log in to listen to your messages.
  • Announcements: Leave a short message for your callers without letting them leave a message. Most businesses use this feature to announce their business hours and directions.
  • Find Me Anywhere – Ring multiple phones (home, desk, home office, cell phone, hotel room) to make sure you never miss a call.
  • Business Hours Rules – Configure two sets of calling rules for different hours. For example, when you are closed, all calls go to voicemail. This can be customized so certain numbers get through anyway.
  • HD Calling – Also called HD Voice, or, more technically, Wideband Audio, this widens the frequencies that your phone can transmit, so your voice sounds more natural and clear.
  • Busy Lamp Field – This handy feature lets you know if another extension is already taking a call.
  • Enhanced Music on Hold – No one likes being on hold, but this feature eases the pain with your choice of your own music or one of 100,000 streaming music channels.
  • HD Conference Suite – Meet the future of conference calling with multiple participants that all dial in to one number. HD Voice means you’ll be better able to whom is speaking.
  • Paging – Use the speaker on every desk phone to send a message to multiple people at once.
  • Personal Ring Strategy – Have all your phones ring at once or one at a time.
  • International Dialing – Get the lowest price on international calls
  • In-Network Calling – Call any onSIP phone anywhere in the world for free.

Compatibility:

  • Any SIP-enabled device, which includes apps on every mobile OS, softphones on every desktop OS, IP-phones, and on-SIP’s free proprietary “Instaphone.”

Integrations:

  • Highrise
  • Salesforce
  • Zendesk

Available Services & Pricing:

OnSIP has atypical pricing plans. Many competitors give you one price for a set of premium features, but onSIP gives you a la carte pricing for many features. There are 2 basic plans, and extra features and per minute pricing will be covered below:

  • Inbound Calling Rates
    • Standard Inbound Calls 2.9¢/min
    • Inbound Toll-Free 3.9¢/min
    • On-Network Calling FREE
    • Phone Numbers $7/activation, $2/mo after
    • Number Porting $15/number one-time cost
    • 25 Concurrent Inbound Calls/Number
  • $0 to start: Pay for features & calling as you go.
    • $49.95 features minimum.
    • 5 Voicemail Boxes (& VM to Email)
    • 3 Auto Attendants
    • 3 Ring Groups
    • 1 Dial by Name Directory
    • 1 Announcement Scheme
    • 5 Music On Hold Channels (Up to five callers on queue will hear music, if more than 5 callers are on hold, they will continue to hold, but without music)
    • Unlimited OnSIP InstaCall
  • $8.95 Per Person Per Month
    • 5 Person Minimum. Each Caller Will Get…
    • Voicemail Box (VM to Email)
    • Auto Attendants
    • Ring Groups
    • Dial by Name Directory
    • Announcements
    • Music On Hold Channels
    • Busy Lamp Field
    • Call Parking
    • Enhanced Music On Hold
    • OnSIP InstaCall
  • Other Features Available For All Plans:
    • Voicemail Box (& VM to Email) $2.00
    • Music On Hold Channel $4.95
    • Auto Attendants $19.95
    • Ring Groups $14.95
    • Dial by Name Directory $9.95
    • On Net Conference Suite $19.95
    • Call Parking $14.95
    • Simple Queue Agent $9.95
    • Smart Queue Agent $14.95
    • Announcements $4.95
    • Enhanced Music on Hold $19.95
    • Busy Lamp Field $19.95
    • InstaPhone for Salesforce $14.95
    • E911 $1.80/mo per seat (May be required by law)
  • Outbound Calling Rates
    • Standard Outbound Calls 2.9¢/min
    • Extended Calling Area Variable
    • On-Network Calling FREE
    • Number Porting $15/number
    • No Outbound Call Limit
  • Bulk Minutes
    • 300,000 Minutes / Month 5% off
    • 500,000 Minutes / Month 10% off

Awards & Recognitions: 

  • Mike Oeth, CEO, Named Telecommunications Executive of the Year in 2013 American Business
  • Awards; OnSIP, together with Panasonic, was presented with a Gold Stevie® Award in the Business Innovation of the Year
  • Business Products Category; 2015 Gartner Cool Vendor
Screenshots
  • Desktop Client Calls & Chatting
    Desktop Client Calls & Chatting
  • Portal Home Screen
    Portal Home Screen
Request OnSIP Demo
To prepare your demo, we'll need some information.
Your current needs
How many lines you need?
Get My Demo
Request OnSIP Quote
To prepare your price quote, we'll need some information.
How many employees do you have?
Which of the following do you need?
Get My Free Quote Now