Overall
3.5
Get Pricing
Visit Website

Mitel

Mitel Verified Reviews & Ratings

Ontario, Canada
With 45 years of experience in business communications, Mitel stands as a global market leader for cloud, enterprise and...
1972
Year Founded
55%
Recommend It
89
User Reviews
Get Pricing
Get Pricing
Request Demo
Visit Website

We have been using Mitel (formerly…

We have been using Mitel (formerly Shoretel) for about 4 years now. We switched from Vocalocity soon after they were acquired by Vonage. The UI user/admin for creating call flow is complicated and dated. In fact since we have become customers, the UI has lost feature after feature, making us think Mitel has no intention of improving or continuing to develop this product (Mitel Cloud Connect). Setting up the phone system was a nightmare. Easily the worst implementation of any business system I have ever worked with (and I have implemented many business systems). Where to start… Well we were presented with a silly looking spread tool which we were told to lay out how we wanted calls to flow. the SS was cumbersome, and since we were unfamiliar with their schema, almost impossible to use. Then we were told we had to record our own sound files for the greetings for the auto attendants (contrast that with Vonage who recorded them for us in multiple languages). Then we were told we needed to upload the files ourselves using their “Visual Call Flow Editor” (Ill get to that in a moment). When we were unable to upload the files their tech support team derisively pointed out that we had not compressed the sound files properly yet had never provided compression specs. We asked if they could compress the files, “No”. So I went on a quest to find and hire VO actors and studios in multiple languages, and then edited those files and then had to learn hjow to compress the files (which still sound awful). Then the transition. We were down for three weeks while Mitel struggled to get it together. We lost patients, we lost important calls and faxes. A complete train wreck. The “Visual Call Flow Editor” could have been a real breakthrough, but its junk. For example when editing an Auto Attendant (AA), you cannot see the upstream connections, nor can you see the downstream connections, only that AA. When making conntections for say prompts, you need to have memorized all extensions for all user and all automated features, because the VCFE does not provide them. It used to. It doesn’t anymore. Which means you need to log out of the AA you were configuring and look up the extension for the automated feature or the user your needed. The HIPAA compliant fax server is a huge plus for medical clinics (yes the medical world still uses faxes).

We have been using Mitel (formerly Shoretel) for about 4 years now. We switched from Vocalocity soon after they were acquired by Vonage. The UI user/admin for creating call flow is complicated and dated. In fact since we have become customers, the UI has lost feature after feature, making us think Mitel has no intention of improving or continuing to develop this product (Mitel Cloud Connect).

Setting up the phone system was a nightmare. Easily the worst implementation of any business system I have ever worked with (and I have implemented many business systems). Where to start… Well we were presented with a silly looking spread tool which we were told to lay out how we wanted calls to flow. the SS was cumbersome, and since we were unfamiliar with their schema, almost impossible to use. Then we were told we had to record our own sound files for the greetings for the auto attendants (contrast that with Vonage who recorded them for us in multiple languages). Then we were told we needed to upload the files ourselves using their “Visual Call Flow Editor” (Ill get to that in a moment). When we were unable to upload the files their tech support team derisively pointed out that we had not compressed the sound files properly yet had never provided compression specs. We asked if they could compress the files, “No”. So I went on a quest to find and hire VO actors and studios in multiple languages, and then edited those files and then had to learn hjow to compress the files (which still sound awful). Then the transition. We were down for three weeks while Mitel struggled to get it together. We lost patients, we lost important calls and faxes. A complete train wreck.

The “Visual Call Flow Editor” could have been a real breakthrough, but its junk. For example when editing an Auto Attendant (AA), you cannot see the upstream connections, nor can you see the downstream connections, only that AA. When making conntections for say prompts, you need to have memorized all extensions for all user and all automated features, because the VCFE does not provide them. It used to. It doesn’t anymore. Which means you need to log out of the AA you were configuring and look up the extension for the automated feature or the user your needed.
The HIPAA compliant fax server is a huge plus for medical clinics (yes the medical world still uses faxes).

Pros: Affordable HIPAA compliant fax servers, lots of configuration options, decent Call Center Configuration, tech support offers escalation.
Cons: Cannot track call flow must use a Mitel tech, which is cumbersome and ineffieicnt, designing call flow is extremely tedious (Extremely!), becuase of the convoluted steps necessary to create call flow infrastructure, their own tech support often times struggle to figure out how to trouble shoot issues within call flow, very limited reporting options. Essentially while it get the call flow accomplished its far too complicated uses tools that are out of date to do so, and therefore makes it very hard to support, and maintain, even when using theior own techs.
Would Recommend: No

Read every review! I assure you they…

Read every review! I assure you they are not lies or exageration. The system is horrible, the service even worse! Don’t make the same mistake we did. Go elsewhere. You WILL regret it. Poor call quality and unresponsive support. Try ANY other vendor as Mitel is a disaster. And forget trying to escalete issues past your rep. Sr. managment are even less responsive. DISGUSTING!

Read every review! I assure you they are not lies or exageration. The system is horrible, the service even worse! Don’t make the same mistake we did. Go elsewhere. You WILL regret it. Poor call quality and unresponsive support. Try ANY other vendor as Mitel is a disaster. And forget trying to escalete issues past your rep. Sr. managment are even less responsive. DISGUSTING!

Pros: None.
Cons: Everything.
Would Recommend: No

It is not humanly possible that this…

It is not humanly possible that this ridiculous excuse for a VOIP provider has a 3.6 rating on this, or any other review site. After relocating to a new facility, I had to contact Mitel about a few of our phones not working. It took their techs THREE WEEKS to respond, and then THREE DAYS to close the ticket when I didn’t respond to them in time (because I was traveling and did not receive their email… I had pretty much given up at that point). As I type this, I’m currently logged in to their portal trying to create a Ring Group, and it will not allow me to proceed to step 3. I set everything up – hit next and NOTHING! No alert. No pop-up. No indication that I’ve done anything wrong. I will be drafting reviews until I hear back from them, and will absolutely be replacing this vendor as soon as I possibly can. If you require phones that WORK, and customer service that isn’t a steaming pile of HOT GARBAGE, I would advise you stay far away from Mitel.

It is not humanly possible that this ridiculous excuse for a VOIP provider has a 3.6 rating on this, or any other review site.

After relocating to a new facility, I had to contact Mitel about a few of our phones not working. It took their techs THREE WEEKS to respond, and then THREE DAYS to close the ticket when I didn’t respond to them in time (because I was traveling and did not receive their email… I had pretty much given up at that point).

As I type this, I’m currently logged in to their portal trying to create a Ring Group, and it will not allow me to proceed to step 3. I set everything up – hit next and NOTHING! No alert. No pop-up. No indication that I’ve done anything wrong.

I will be drafting reviews until I hear back from them, and will absolutely be replacing this vendor as soon as I possibly can.

If you require phones that WORK, and customer service that isn’t a steaming pile of HOT GARBAGE, I would advise you stay far away from Mitel.

Pros: NOTHING.
Cons: EVERYTHING.
Would Recommend: No

The VOiP phones are garbage, I have to…

The VOiP phones are garbage, I have to send them back all the time. Call quality is horrible. Customer support is the worst part. Stay away. As a matter of fact, as I’m writing this review our system went down after being on hold for 40 minutes with Mitel support. Their admin portal is always down as well. It’s down right now!!

The VOiP phones are garbage, I have to send them back all the time. Call quality is horrible. Customer support is the worst part. Stay away. As a matter of fact, as I’m writing this review our system went down after being on hold for 40 minutes with Mitel support. Their admin portal is always down as well. It’s down right now!!

Pros: None.
Cons: Everything.
Would Recommend: No

I have had nothing but trouble with…

I have had nothing but trouble with Mitel since the very beginning. Trying to get support is like pulling teeth, at least 1 hr to try to fix issue after waiting for days to get a response usually. I can’t wait to be out of my contract! Service is spotty as well, dropped a lot more calls than expected and we’re on Fiber internet. Mobile app doesn’t work half of the time either. Great concepts but company lacks support & actual service/reliability of products offered.

I have had nothing but trouble with Mitel since the very beginning. Trying to get support is like pulling teeth, at least 1 hr to try to fix issue after waiting for days to get a response usually. I can’t wait to be out of my contract! Service is spotty as well, dropped a lot more calls than expected and we’re on Fiber internet. Mobile app doesn’t work half of the time either. Great concepts but company lacks support & actual service/reliability of products offered.

Would Recommend: No

The cost is high and the features are…

The cost is high and the features are limited. Their customer service is horrendous. When I attempted to cancel their service they told me to call our Manager, which is listed on web portal page. We sent out emails, left voicemails to the Mgr, Project Mgr, Sales for 2 mos and NEVER got a response.

The cost is high and the features are limited. Their customer service is horrendous. When I attempted to cancel their service they told me to call our Manager, which is listed on web portal page. We sent out emails, left voicemails to the Mgr, Project Mgr, Sales for 2 mos and NEVER got a response.

Would Recommend: No

Overall the Mitel phone service was…

Overall the Mitel phone service was unreliable! Their pricing is substantially higher than many other providers and with fewer features included in their basic user licenses. Mitel still bills at .04 per minute for inbound 800 numbers; our new provider and many others do not. Our new provider has US-based customer service and for a flat $15.00 per month (40% less than Mitel) we get twice as many features! If you need customer service, GOOD LUCK! If you enjoy frustrating conversations with people in India, Mitel is for you! Mitel is supposedly a high tech company, but just try to cancel your account! They bill via email, but to cancel your account you are forced to send a physical letter to their Reno address; WTF?

Overall the Mitel phone service was unreliable! Their pricing is substantially higher than many other providers and with fewer features included in their basic user licenses. Mitel still bills at .04 per minute for inbound 800 numbers; our new provider and many others do not. Our new provider has US-based customer service and for a flat $15.00 per month (40% less than Mitel) we get twice as many features! If you need customer service, GOOD LUCK! If you enjoy frustrating conversations with people in India, Mitel is for you! Mitel is supposedly a high tech company, but just try to cancel your account! They bill via email, but to cancel your account you are forced to send a physical letter to their Reno address; WTF?

Pros: Virtually none compared to other s.
Cons: Terrible customer service India.
Would Recommend: No

We inherited Mitel and could NOT wait…

We inherited Mitel and could NOT wait to be done with them. The customer service is TERRIBLE. You get pushed from one hold line to the next. There are 25 layers you have to go through to talk to a human, who then has to transfer you to someone else, just to go through it all again. When we called to cancel our account, we were told we had to send them a letter. Excuse me? We then asked to talk to a supervisor – we got transferred (of course) then ended up being passed around 20 times. We finally got someone that made it clear we should be transferred again, but she would deal with us. We then had to create a “ticket” to cancel our account. It seems they have a quota against cancellations and make it AS HARD AS POSSIBLE. I would NEVER use this company again.

We inherited Mitel and could NOT wait to be done with them. The customer service is TERRIBLE. You get pushed from one hold line to the next. There are 25 layers you have to go through to talk to a human, who then has to transfer you to someone else, just to go through it all again. When we called to cancel our account, we were told we had to send them a letter. Excuse me? We then asked to talk to a supervisor – we got transferred (of course) then ended up being passed around 20 times. We finally got someone that made it clear we should be transferred again, but she would deal with us. We then had to create a “ticket” to cancel our account. It seems they have a quota against cancellations and make it AS HARD AS POSSIBLE. I would NEVER use this company again.

Would Recommend: No

We have been a cloud customer for just…

We have been a cloud customer for just over 3 years. We started out as a Shoretel customer then became Mitle customers when Mitel bought Shortel. Althought we had a few issues with Shoretel, it, did work fairly realiabily. That all went away when Mitel acquired Shoretel. We rely heavily on thier Voicemail and Immediate Messaging. Both of these features have been problematic at the very best. Mitel makes changes to thier applications without notifying thier customers first. Thier support has bto be the worst in then telecom industry. According to thier website, thier support esponse times are supposed to be: Priority 1 cases – 1 hour respnse time, Priority 2 cases – 4hour response time, and, Priority 3 cases – 24 hour response time. This NEVER happens. Contacting Mitel Support is a joke. Calling support on the phone will have you on hold for hours if, it is answered at all. The majority of the time, thier chat is off line. When you try to bring these issue to the attention of your Mitel customer account manager, you are lucky to to get a response ithin a week much less that same day. Take if rom a soon to be ex-customer. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

We have been a cloud customer for just over 3 years. We started out as a Shoretel customer then became Mitle customers when Mitel bought Shortel. Althought we had a few issues with Shoretel, it, did work fairly realiabily. That all went away when Mitel acquired Shoretel. We rely heavily on thier Voicemail and Immediate Messaging. Both of these features have been problematic at the very best. Mitel makes changes to thier applications without notifying thier customers first. Thier support has bto be the worst in then telecom industry. According to thier website, thier support esponse times are supposed to be: Priority 1 cases – 1 hour respnse time, Priority 2 cases – 4hour response time, and, Priority 3 cases – 24 hour response time. This NEVER happens. Contacting Mitel Support is a joke. Calling support on the phone will have you on hold for hours if, it is answered at all. The majority of the time, thier chat is off line. When you try to bring these issue to the attention of your Mitel customer account manager, you are lucky to to get a response ithin a week much less that same day. Take if rom a soon to be ex-customer. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

Pros: None.
Cons: Response from Account Executive, Reliabiliy, Support.
Would Recommend: No
PHIL S.'s review forMitel

1 month post implementation and still…

1 month post implementation and still trying to reach predictable performance. Seldom is there a day we don’t submit a ticket. Project manager seemed over-tasked, rushed and on edge throughout the installation. Beyond go-live, initial configuration was completely left up to us. Numerous support calls were required to even get hunt groups and user settings established. Do your homework and ask the tough questions before signing. Most Mitel support personnel are knowledgeable and helpful however.

1 month post implementation and still trying to reach predictable performance. Seldom is there a day we don’t submit a ticket. Project manager seemed over-tasked, rushed and on edge throughout the installation. Beyond go-live, initial configuration was completely left up to us. Numerous support calls were required to even get hunt groups and user settings established. Do your homework and ask the tough questions before signing. Most Mitel support personnel are knowledgeable and helpful however.

Pros: Simple install.
Cons: You configure your own set up.
Would Recommend: No
Loading...
Provider Overview

With 45 years of experience in business communications, Mitel stands as a global market leader for cloud, enterprise and next-gen collaboration applications. Mitel has more than 70 million users in almost 100 countries, and powers two billion business connections through out the world. Mitel’s solutions have evolved over time, driven by the strive for constant innovation.

Based in Ottowa, Canada, Mitel offers an impressive portfolio of cloud based services available around the world. Ranked as #1 in UC Market Share in Europe, #2 in UCaaS Market Share Worldwide, and generating over $1.3 billion in revenue, Mitel is also a 5 time Gartner Magic Quadrant leader in Unified Communications.

 

Mitel Pricing and Services

 

Solutions and Features

MiCloud Connect

  • Secure and flexible cloud phone services and unified communications
  • Collaboration features to enhance productivity
  • Enhanced customer experience tools
  • Global presence
  • Improved business intelligence with integrations
  • Enterprise-grade VoIP phone service
  • Instant messaging
  • Audio and Web Conferencing
  • Multi-point Video
  • Global Numbers available
  • Mitel Connect Contact Center
  • Enterprise-class Security
  • Disaster recovery service
  • CRM and Business Process integrations

MiCloud Flex

  • Unified, Mission-critical communications in the cloud
  • Designed for large enterprises
  • Hosted Unified Communications as a Service
  • Integrate with business tools
  • Single communications portal available on desktop or mobile devices
  • Voice, email, text and chat from any device
  • Local number portability
  • Direct inward dialing
  • Flexible SIP bundles
  • Unified Messaging
  • Multi auto attendant
  • Audio/video conferencing
  • Advanced collaboration tools
  • Contact center solutions
  • Hybrid network solutions
  • Mitel survivable gateways with local PRI bundles
  • Instant messaging
  • Teleworker support
  • Dual mode handoff
  • Single number reach

Mitel Clearspan

  • Carrier-grade cloud communications built to scale
  • Designed for enterprises, universities and large institutions
  • Highly scalable call processing architecture capable of serving over 100,000 users
  • Rich set of APIs to enable real-time integration
  • Unified Messaging
  • Fixed-mobile convergence
  • Audio and video softphone
  • Web assistant toolbar
  • Auto attendant
  • Intelligent Call Routing
  • Advanced analytics
  • Attendant console
  • Web collaboration and conferencing
  • Full-featured contact center
  • Carrier-grade reliability and redundancy
  • Open, standards-based platform and API
  • OpEasy application for provisioning, monitoring and reporting
  • Fully integrated Session Border Controller

Pricing

To better understand Mitel’s pricing structure, you can head to their Price Estimator to find out the rough costs for specific user-counts and plan of choice.

 

Editor’s Bottom Line of Mitel

 

Depending on the size of your organization, Mitel offers cloud solutions that can scale all the way up to massive Enterprise and University institutions. Mitel’s MiCloud Connect, designed as a secure and flexible Unified Commutations as a Service solution, is a strong offering for even SMB that are looking to transition from an on-premise or landline solution to a completely cloud-based platform. Based off of the Connect CLOUD from Mitel’s acquisition of ShoreTel, the MiCloud Connect platform provides organizations with more than just Business VoIP, but also advanced collaboration features including web conferencing and instant messaging.

Mitel’s MiCloud Flex solution, previously known as MiCloud Enterprise, is designed for larger enterprise organizations that have a strong need for mission-critical communications. The MiCloud Flex platform extends beyond basic Unified Communications and adds even more advanced functionality like local number portability, direct inward dialing, flexible SIP bundles and even video conferencing. This platform can also be directly integrated with Mitel’s contact center solution, as well as hybrid network solutions. MiCloud Flex lives up to its name, and truly provides the flexibility and stability that a large scale enterprise requires to keep the lights on and business running as usual.

Of course, moving even further up the ladder Mitel offers their complete Clearspan platform. This Carrier-grade cloud communications solution is built to scale up to as large as 100,000 users, designed with massive institutions in mind. Throughout all of Mitel’s solutions, your organization is supported by the proven reliability of Mitel’s expansive network, along with a host of advanced features and functionality, starting all the way at the MiCloud Connect solution. With Mitel, your team gains more than just a basic phone solution. Instead, Mitel provides a wide array of tools and services your team needs to communication and collaborate effectively in this digital age.

Mitel is always listening to customer needs, and evolving their solutions to fit into those specific needs. With the flexibility provided by a cloud-based solution, any organization can find the right platform that will satisfy collaboration needs while remaining cost effective, and almost infinitely scalable. Mitel has routinely been recognized as a leading provider in the Unified Communications market, both domestically and globally. In 2017, Mitel was named the Frost & Sullivan Growth Excellence Leader in Unified Communications in North America.

Screenshots
  • Mitel Operations Scheduler
    Mitel Operations Scheduler
  • Mitel IP Set Inventory
    Mitel IP Set Inventory
  • Mitel Inventory Report
    Mitel Inventory Report
  • Mitel Alarm Analytics
    Mitel Alarm Analytics
  • Mitel Messaging Dashboard
    Mitel Messaging Dashboard

Share Your Feedback

What Do You Think of Mitel?
Your last name & email will not be displayed.
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Would you recommend this provider?
Are you currently an active user?
{{current}} / {{min-length}} Minimum Characters
Submit Review
Request Mitel Quote
To prepare your price quote, we'll need some information.
How many employees do you have?
Which of the following do you need?
Get Your Price Quote Now
Request Mitel Demo
To prepare your demo, we'll need some information.
Your current needs
How many lines you need?
Get My Free Quote Now