4.4

Phone Power

Winnetka, CA
Service Location: USA & Canada
  • 2005Year Founded
  • 82%Recommend
  • 11User Reviews
Request a Demo
Request a Quote
Write Review
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
4.4
  • Customer Reviews
  • Provider Overview
  • Available Services
Customer Reviews
Sort ByDateRating
Order ByAscDesc

Cable phone was charging...

Cable phone was charging over twice as much. But PhonePower has provided every feature and the same quality!

MattFebruary 07, 2015

Cable phone was charging over twice as much. But PhonePower has provided every feature and the same quality!

Pros: Quality, Number blocking
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
4.9

Call quality is great, service is not reliable...

I currently have phonepower service. I have two different brand cordless set connected to two lines. The call quality is great, however the service is not reliable. I am not very pleased with the interface setting up call forwarding/simultaneous ringing through web interface. Very confusing and not straight forward. I am not going to renew after 2 year service. Almost every month I see phonepower technical difficulties such as (out of service for an hour or can't dial toll free numbers). I don't like this kinda interruption. Otherwise, I stayed an hour long interview and then stayed hour long outgoing call and received long calls all worked backed to back fine with crystal clear call quality. I have downstream(30mbps) and upstream(3mbps) any given point which is exceptionally good for decent call quality. I would not recommend phonepower right at this time, let them polish up their quality and then worth trying.

DevDecember 21, 2014

I currently have phonepower service. I have two different brand cordless set connected to two lines. The call quality is great, however the service is not reliable. I am not very pleased with the interface setting up call forwarding/simultaneous ringing through web interface. Very confusing and not straight forward. I am not going to renew after 2 year service. Almost every month I see phonepower technical difficulties such as (out of service for an hour or can't dial toll free numbers). I don't like this kinda interruption. Otherwise, I stayed an hour long interview and then stayed hour long outgoing call and received long calls all worked backed to back fine with crystal clear call quality. I have downstream(30mbps) and upstream(3mbps) any given point which is exceptionally good for decent call quality. I would not recommend phonepower right at this time, let them polish up their quality and then worth trying.

Pros: great call quality, two lines fully functional. free 1 h our international calls, voice message to email.
Cons: (a) Setting up call forwarding is very difficult. (b) only one month call logs available. (c) an hour service drop every month
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
2.4

Lots of options

I really like Phone Power and all its options. Couldn't even get that through the AT&T and especially Magic Jack which people should be weary of.

BarryNovember 02, 2013

I really like Phone Power and all its options. Couldn't even get that through the AT&T and especially Magic Jack which people should be weary of.

Pros: Block unwanted numbers & blocking user’s number
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
5.0

Saving $60/mo

I'm saving over $60/mo! My AT&T bill for a single land line was over $72/mo. My two-year plan with PhonePower comes to $11.41/mo.

DarrelOctober 02, 2013

I'm saving over $60/mo! My AT&T bill for a single land line was over $72/mo. My two-year plan with PhonePower comes to $11.41/mo.

Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
5.0

Pricing

Huge savings, about $40-$50 a month. Setup was not that easy for me. I work from home on a VPN connection and with the adapter connected as preferred, I could log on to VPN but could not access certain functions like work email. with it hooked up from modem to router to adapter VPN worked great but the phone kept dropping off. Neither Phone Power techs or my company's IT were any help so I kept playing until I figured out that that adapter needed to be in switch mode instead of router mode. Since then everything has been working as advertised.

PaulSeptember 20, 2013

Huge savings, about $40-$50 a month. Setup was not that easy for me. I work from home on a VPN connection and with the adapter connected as preferred, I could log on to VPN but could not access certain functions like work email. with it hooked up from modem to router to adapter VPN worked great but the phone kept dropping off. Neither Phone Power techs or my company's IT were any help so I kept playing until I figured out that that adapter needed to be in switch mode instead of router mode. Since then everything has been working as advertised.

Pros: Second line
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
4.3

Big savings

I was looking to lower my monthly home phone bill. After researching the various Voip providers, Phone Power came out on top. The equipment arrived quickly and setup was a snap. Features and call quality are phenomenal.

VincentAugust 23, 2013

I was looking to lower my monthly home phone bill. After researching the various Voip providers, Phone Power came out on top. The equipment arrived quickly and setup was a snap. Features and call quality are phenomenal.

Pros: call clarity, many features
Cons: can't fax
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
4.9

Love blocking telemarketers

Excellent price, easy set up, numerous amazing features, great website... Especially love blocking telemarketers...Only hate and annoyed having to unplug to reset too often when no calls are getting through... Otherwise, very much satisfied and highly recommend over all other VOIP providers, especially COMCAST and VONAGE.

BarryAugust 08, 2013

Excellent price, easy set up, numerous amazing features, great website... Especially love blocking telemarketers...Only hate and annoyed having to unplug to reset too often when no calls are getting through... Otherwise, very much satisfied and highly recommend over all other VOIP providers, especially COMCAST and VONAGE.

Pros: Excellent price, easy set up, numerous amazing features, great website
Cons: Have to unplug to reset too often is somwhat annoying.
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
4.9

Great value for the price

I have had this service for several years now and have had no problems with the service. I did have the modem go out after a couple of years but PhonePower replaced it quickly with a newer model. This service is much better that the wired line I have it has all the options with no extra charges while the wired line charges for every thing as an extra. I would recommend this service and I plan on continuing to use it.

FredJuly 31, 2013

I have had this service for several years now and have had no problems with the service. I did have the modem go out after a couple of years but PhonePower replaced it quickly with a newer model. This service is much better that the wired line I have it has all the options with no extra charges while the wired line charges for every thing as an extra. I would recommend this service and I plan on continuing to use it.

Pros: PhonePower is a great value for the price and the service has worked very well.
Cons: equipment failed after two years but was quickly replace with better modem
Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
5.0

Call quality is horrible

I got my home phone(voip) from phone power Jan 2013. They advertise it as "Unlimited World Plus - $24.95/mo." which included "unlimited" calls to Bangladesh land-line and mobile phone. The call quality is horrible. Had to try 20 time to get connection and when it did it was one way, person on the other end couldn't hear it. Today April 02 I got a email from from phone power telling me they turn off my international calling because I been costing the company way to much money by calling Bangladesh. So i have to leave their company or get a USA calling plan and pay per min. Isn't it bait and switch! I mean if you get a plan and pay your bills on time you expect the company to keep their promise and provide the service they advertise. Super Disappointed.
Product_Or_Service: Unlimited World Plus - $24.95/mo.
Order_Number: 1602391
Account_Number: 110848

RajibApril 18, 2013

I got my home phone(voip) from phone power Jan 2013. They advertise it as "Unlimited World Plus - $24.95/mo." which included "unlimited" calls to Bangladesh land-line and mobile phone. The call quality is horrible. Had to try 20 time to get connection and when it did it was one way, person on the other end couldn't hear it. Today April 02 I got a email from from phone power telling me they turn off my international calling because I been costing the company way to much money by calling Bangladesh. So i have to leave their company or get a USA calling plan and pay per min. Isn't it bait and switch! I mean if you get a plan and pay your bills on time you expect the company to keep their promise and provide the service they advertise. Super Disappointed.
Product_Or_Service: Unlimited World Plus - $24.95/mo.
Order_Number: 1602391
Account_Number: 110848

Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
2.9

10 Dollars for dependable phone service

Great pricing, and easy to setup. We had a sound relay issue in the first couple of weeks of usage, which was immediately solved once reached out to their support department. Paying about $10 for a dependable phone service

StevenSeptember 07, 2012

Great pricing, and easy to setup. We had a sound relay issue in the first couple of weeks of usage, which was immediately solved once reached out to their support department. Paying about $10 for a dependable phone service

Quality
Installation
Support
Reliability
Features
Price
Overall
4.6
Load More
Provider Overview

Since 2005, Phone Power has provided Residential and small Business VoIP service with free calling to the U.S. and Canada. Their affordable Residential plans are available to customers worldwide, along with great International rates and over 55 countries that can be called for free. When you prepay the first year of service with Phone Power, you'll receive the second year FREE and a Cloned Second Line.

Phone Power’s Business and Hosted PBX service packages range from single-line business accounts all the way up to multiple-location hosted PBX systems with fully-featured Auto-Attendants and Call Hunt Groups. Installation is easy and includes Phone Power's Home Adapter, which simply plugs into your broadband connection.

Most Popular Plan: Month-to-Month Home and Small Business - Phone Power offers a number of services ranging from single residential lines to hosted PBX systems for small businesses. Amongst these services and plans, the VoIP provider offers domestic home and small business plans across month to month, one year, and two year plan options. Though the month to month option is typically most popular, each plan option comes equipped with free calling to the US and Canada, free equipment lease and activation online, 1 hour free international calling every month, a free Phone Power adapter (that allows users to attach 2 phones), and a host of over 45 free premium calling features and exclusive failsafe.

Some of the features Phone Power’s service plan comes equipped with are:
Free Second Line, Voicemail-to-Email, Do Not Disturb, Voicemail Viewer, Remote Voicemail Access, Anonymous Caller Rejection, Online Account Management, Call Waiting, Caller ID, Simultaneous Ring, Contact List, Call Waiting
Speed Dial, Operator Block, Call Hold, Softphone, 3-Way Calling, E911, Free In-Network Calling, 311 City Service, Remote Click2Call, Fax Catcher. In addition to this Phone Power also includes their exclusive “Failsafe” feature, which can automatically forward calls to an alternate number in the event of an internet or power outage.

Pricing: Pricing for Phone Power plans is based on the method selected for monthly charges. Each plan’s startup cost (which includes service plus surcharges and taxes) is reflective of the method selected. Additionally, each plan has different contract requirements, taxes, surcharges, and shipping and handling (if applicable).
- Month to Month Plan: $19.95 per month; No Contract; No Prepayment; 1st month cost of $25.24 with taxes and surcharges; S&H $14.95, total startup cost of $40.19
- 12 Month Term Plan: $16.95 per month; 12 Month Contract; No Prepayment; 1st month cost of $21.89 with taxes and surcharges; S&H $14.95, total startup cost of $36.84
- 24 Month Term Plan: $14.95 per month; 24 Month Contract; No Prepayment; 1st month cost of $19.66 with taxes and surcharges; S&H $14.95, total startup cost of $34.61

While the options above do not require prepayment, Phone Power offers another plan, buy one year (prepaid) and get the second free. In choosing this option users are charged $199.95 ($8.33 monthly average), $258.86 1st month cost with taxes and surcharges, and total startup cost (with S&H) of $273.8. Note: Charges are conditional to local taxes based on the user’s zip code.

The International Plus plan also includes the 45+ premium VoIP features, as well as a free 2nd line with Failsafe.

Awards:
- 2013 TopTenReviews Gold Award for its range of service plans and quality features
- 2013 TopTenReviews Excellence Award
- BBR Gold Star Award Winner for receiving review ratings above 80% (current and on average)
- Included in Inc 500’s Fastest Growing Privately Owned Companies in America (2012)
- Ranked Number 22 Fastest Growing Company in North America on Deloitte’s Technology Fast 500